h1

Stress relief

June 27, 2008

I finally got back to painting this weekend. This is the first oil painting I’ve done that isn’t a portrait. I haven’t had time to paint since last August. Didn’t realize how long it’s been. I sort of stumbled along as I painted this, remembering how to handle the paint… I started of just mixing the paints, no direction, no composition in mind. I wasn’t happy with it in the beginning, so I left it alone for a couple of days. I punched in the colors a bit yesterday and moved things around. I like it a little better today, so I thought I’d share it. The composition is lacking, I did capture the light and the perspective is a little bit off. Granted I am my worst critic. Getting back to painting is doing wonders for my state of mind. I can forget the drudgery of everyday life, the stress of trying to survive in an escalating economic crisis. However, they don’t call them “starving artists” without a reason. So back to real work I go.

One comment

  1. nice work. i admire people who can create/draw something…my hand is not meant for creating things i must say



Leave a Reply

